Safeguarding Information

We are committed to the safeguarding of all our students, staff and visitors.  Safeguarding is a priority and we have put arrangements in place to ensure everyone’s safety on the school grounds and during off-site activities.

We ensure that safeguarding legislation and guidance are adhered to and taken into account when developing and reviewing our policies and procedures.  We work hard to ensure that we provide a safe physical environment for everyone and that the buildings and grounds are of a good standard.

Like all schools, Churston has a Designated Safeguarding Lead, Mr David Lewis, Deputy Head Teacher.  We also have an extensive safeguarding team with colleagues taking specific responsibility for particular year groups:

  • Mrs Sarah Whitford is the safeguarding lead for Year 7
  • Miss Cathy Ballinger for Years 8 and 9
  • Mrs Sarah Reed for Years 10 and 11
  • Mrs Julie Sadler-Smith for Years 12 and 13

In addition, our Deputy Headteacher Mr Simon Underdown, our school counsellor Mrs Marie Atwell, and our SENCO Mrs Justine Owers, are both safeguarding leads within the school. Our designated safeguarding Governor is Mr Steve Caunter; he is actively involved in helping us to ensure that safeguarding at Churston remains both effective and up to date. Our policies and procedures enable us to deal effectively with child protection and safeguarding issues together with recording and monitoring processes.

At Churston, it is a condition of employment that all staff have a clear enhanced DBS check and are trained to an appropriate level dependent on their core responsibilities.

Churston’s commitment to safeguarding is central to the success of all our students.  The Governing body, the Senior Leadership Team and the Safeguarding Team will ensure that all policies and procedures are kept up to date and in line with the latest advice from government.

Should you wish to make an allegation about a member of school staff, please contact the Head Teacher directly.  Should you wish to make an allegation about the Head Teacher, please contact the Chair of Governors, Ms Roni Jay,  via [email protected] 

Privacy Notice